Local News

Several Arrested On Drug Charges

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Several people arrested with drug charges recently according to the Woodbury Police Department.  Those arrested according to the Woodbury Police Department Reports include:
Gerald Thurman Brown-Simple Possession of Marijuana and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
Robert Alexander II-Posession Schedule 2 drugs methamphetamine for resale and possession of drug paraphernalia, possesssion of stolen property and maintaining a dwelling for the use or sale of controlled substance
Tyler Ray Thomas-Theft
Allie Renea McCoy-Maintaining structure to sell controlled substance, drug paraphernalia, possession of schedule II drugs with the intent to resell
Beverly Barrett Bond-Maintaining structure to sell controlled substance, drug paraphernalia, possession of schedule II drugs with the intent to resell
Jeremy Thomas-Possession with Intent and drug paraphernalia
Christopher A Woodard-Simple Possession and Driving While License Revoked
and Tammy Lynn Murphy-DUI

Budget Committee To Hear Court Departments Budget Requests Tonight

Thursday, 23 March 2017

WBRY continues its news series on the Cannon County Budget Policy.  This week we look at the Budget Process as outlined in the adopted Cannon County Budget Policy
The formal budgetary process begins with a goal setting workshop for senior adminstrative management. The County Executive's office, Budget Committee and County Commission will ensure the approved calendar is followed.  For the general fund offices, the office of County Exeuctive will serve as the budget coordinator.  The coordinator will provide working papers to all the appropriate officials at the time specified in the calendar.  The County Highway Department and County Board of Education will serve as their own budget coordinators and will be responsible for meeting the stated deadlines.  All Department Heads will submit their budget requests to the County Executive's Office by the date specified.  The County Executive's office will compile all budget requests into a budget document for review by the Budget Committee during the months of March and April.  At the first meeting of the Budget Committee, the members will decide which departments they will meet with based upon their requests.
The Budget Committee conducts public review meetings and recommends revisions to the consolidated budget.  The Budget Committee will draft a revised and final budget by May 31.  The County Commission is responsible for final approval and appropriation of the consolidated budget and sets the property tax rate.  The County Commission will deliberate and approve a final budget by July 20th subject to adjustment for actual fiscal year 2017 year end results.
All budget workshops, Budget Committee meetings and the County Commission meetings will be advertised and open to the public according to the Open Meetings Law.  State law requires the county to publish the annual proposed operating budget in a newspaper of general circulation.  The budget must be published no later than five days after it is presented to the County Commission.  The budget cannot be adopted until at least ten days after it is published.
The Cannon County Budget Committee will meet tonight at 5:00 for their third meeting of the year.  
On the schedule for today the Committee will hear from the Department Heads of the Circuit Court Clerk, General Sessions, Clerk and Master, Juvenile Services, Judicial and Probation Office.  Tonight's meeting will take place in the courtroom of the Cannon County Courthouse.

Spring Turkey Season Opens April 1st Young Sportsman Hunt This Weekend

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Tennessee’s 2017 spring turkey season opens on Saturday, April 1 and continues through Sunday, May 14. The state young sportsman hunt for youth ages 6-16 is March 25-26.
Spring turkey harvest numbers have been consistent for a number of years in Tennessee. Tennessee turkey hunters have passed the 30,000 harvest mark for 14 consecutive years during the spring hunting season.Male turkey in wildflower field
Hunting hours for turkeys are 30 minutes prior to legal sunrise until legal sunset. Legal hunting equipment includes shotguns using ammunition loaded with No. 4 shot or smaller. There is no restriction on number of rounds in magazine. Longbows, recurve bows, compound bows, and crossbows are permitted.
Firearms and archery equipment may have sighting devices except those devices utilizing an artificial light capable of locating wildlife. Night vision scopes are illegal.
Bag limits are one bearded turkey per day, not to exceed four per season. Any turkeys harvested during the young sportsman hunt count toward the spring season limit.
More information on the 2017 spring turkey season can be found in the 2016-17 Tennessee Hunting & Trapping Guide. The guide is available at TWRA offices, license agents, and online at www.tnwildlife.org.

Michael Underhill Celebrates 30 Years Of Service As Cannon County Responder

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

The Cannon County Rescue Squad has announced that Cannon County Fire Chief Michael Underhill is celebrating 30 years of service as a volunteer emergency responder in Cannon County.  In 1987, Michael joined the Cannon County Rescue Squad and the Cannon County Fire Department.  Since then he has achieved the rank of Chief Executive Officer for the Cannon County Rescue Squad.  Among the many other accomplishments, Michael has served as the Fire Chief of the Short Mountain Fire Department since 1994.
For more information on becoming a volunteer responder with the Cannon County Rescue Squad Inc.  visit the website at cannoncountyrescue.com

Bird Watching Club To Start At Library In April

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

The Adams Memorial Library is starting a Birding Club.  Bird watching or Birding, is one of the fastest growing activities in the United States. Anyone can watch birds from anywhere, even their backyard.  
Spring is a great time to begin bird watching because many spiecies are travelling through to their summer nesting areas and local birds will be returning as well.  The library staff is excited to be able to offer a bird watching club with a knowledgable local game warden, Mark Vance will kick off the Club with a Bird presentation Thursday April 6th at 6:30P.

Motorcycle Missing From Shed

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

The Cannon County Sheriff's Department Took The Following Reports Of Thefts Or Lost Items Recently:
Justin Holt reported a lost motorcycle tag.  Hold Stated that he had went for a ride and  the bolts holding on the tag had vibrated loose, causing the tag to fall off.
Cody Fricks called the Sheriff's Office to report that his tag was stolen off of his 1994 Chevrolet S10.  Mr Fricks stated that he had seen several subjects around his vehicle throughout the evening the tag was stolen.
Donald White reported that he had checked his shed for his motorcycle and discovered it stolen.  The motorcycle has been described as a 2005 Harley Davidson 1200xlc Sportster, burgundy in color with a windshield and black saddle bags.


Subscribe to Local News